Meyya Meyyappan

Meyya Meyyappan is Director of the Center for Nanotechnology as well as Senior Scientist at NaSa Ames Research Center in Moffett Field, CA ( He is one of the founding members of the Interagency Working Group on Nanotechnology (IWGN) established by the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). The IWGN is responsible for putting together the National Nanotechnology Initiative.

Meyyappan is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). He is Fellow of the Electrochemical Society (ECS). In addition, he is a member of American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), Materials Research Society, American Vacuum Society, and American Institute of Chemical Engineers. He is the IEEE Distinguished Lecturer on Nanotechnology and ASME's Distinguished Lecturer on Nanotechnology. He is the President-elect of the IEEE's Nanotechnology Council.

For his work and leadership in nanotechnology, he was awarded NASA's Outstanding Leadership Medal and received the Arthur Flemming Award from the Arthur Flemming Foundation and George Washington University. For his contributions to nanotechnology education and training, he received the 20032004 Engineer of the Year award from the San Francisco section of the AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics). In 2004, he was honored with the President's Meritorious Award for his contributions to nanotechnology.



0 0

Post a comment